Japanese shibori pillow in indigo

Japanese shibori pillow in indigo

Japanese shibori pillow in indigo

Japanese shibori pillow in indigo

Japanese shibori fabrics

Japanese shibori fabrics

Japanese shibori pillow in indigo

Japanese shibori pillow in indigo

I am a huge fan of tie-dye and indigo. Through the years, I have carried Ghanan indigo cloth pillow covers and indigo batik pillow covers. I have been collecting Japanese indigo shibori and kasuri fabrics for a few years. I finally had my vintage Japanese indigo shibori fabrics made into decorative pillow covers. Shibori is a Japanese term for several methods of dyeing cloth with a pattern by binding, stitching, folding, twisting, compressing it, or capping. We, in the West, commonly refer to it as tie-dye. There is an infinite number of ways one can bind, stitch, fold, twist, or compress cloth for shibori, and each way results in very different patterns. Each method is used to achieve a certain result, but each method is also used to work in harmony with the type of cloth used. Therefore, the technique used in shibori depends not only on the desired pattern, but the characteristics of the cloth being dyed. Here are the indigo shibori pillows. I am hoping to get my act together to get the kasuri transformed into pillows soon.